Ivan Yarn!

Hello again, dear readers! As many of you know, my husband and I keep two fiber goats on our farm: Hamlet, a full angora goat, and Ivan, a pygora goat (pygmy + angora). We’ve had them since Fall 2009, though Spring 2010 was the first time we had them professionally sheared. [I previously attempted to do it myself with poor results.] After shearing, I washed and packed away Hamlet’s fleece to process on my own later, but I decided to send Ivan’s fleece to a fiber mill because there were guard hairs that needed to be removed.

This post from late-April 2010 has photos of the goats before and after this shearing.

I spread out the fleece to skirt it (remove the bad parts) before shipping to the mill – this photo is from May 2010:

A closer look at the the guard hair I mentioned. It’s actually pretty soft, so I asked the mill to do a “regular” dehairing, as opposed to a more thorough Cashmere dehairing:

After 5 months of waiting, we received nearly 2.5 lbs of lovely sport-ish weight yarn. My wonderful husband included several skeins in a recent package to me in Norway. Here are a couple of them:

Isn’t it gorgeous?! I hate to sound like that-crazy-goat-lady, but I’m so proud of my sweet Ivan for growing such nice fiber! I can’t wait to knit this up into something cozy.

The goats received their Fall 2010 shearing in October, and hubby sent both of their fleeces off to a different fiber mill for processing. [I hate to speak badly about folks in the fiber community, and I certainly won’t name names, but I was less than impressed with the communication and customer service at our last fiber mill. The fiber turned out beautifully, but I couldn’t handle a repeat of our last 5 month long ordeal.] Just a few days after we sent the fiber, the new mill called hubby to say they had received it (!) and to chat about Ivan’s fleece in particular. They said they would begin processing it immediately, so I imagine we’ll have more yarn soon. I hope it turns out well, because from a customer service standpoint, they’re already wowing us. Stay tuned!

9 Responses to “Ivan Yarn!”


  1. 1 SD 2010 November 10 at 7:14 pm

    crazy goat lady. HA! miss you.

  2. 3 Bonnie 2010 November 10 at 9:37 pm

    With results like that, be as crazy as you want!

  3. 5 meghanaf 2010 November 12 at 5:00 am

    Absolutely stunning! Lucky you!

  4. 7 Amanda 2010 December 20 at 5:21 pm

    Luckily girl!


  1. 1 Ivan Hat « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2011 March 21 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Photobucket

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

