Springtime Supper

broccoli-carrots(Credit: iStockphoto/Albert Lozano)

Springtime is here and even though the carrots and broccoli in my veggie garden aren’t ready, I’ve been craving a light primavera-ish pasta dish for some time now. I’m trying to eat produce from my garden as much as possible this year, but really, who can wait?  Last night, I caved and bought some at the local grocery store. It turned out deliciously! Here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS

  • Olive oil – Extra Virgin
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 carrots (full size), or 10 baby carrots
  • 2 broccoli crowns
  • 1 lb penne pasta (or whatever kind you enjoy)
  • 2 tbsp capers (or to taste)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Begin boiling water for pasta. Cook (al dente) in parallel with the veggie preparation below. When finished, drain the pasta and add back to the pot.
  2. Chop carrots short-wise into rounds. When the pieces get to be larger than a nickle, cut them in half as well. They should be fairly thin slices, approximately 1/8″.
  3. Place the carrots in a steamer; I use the steaming cage at the bottom of a deep pot. Steam under low heat until tender (approx 10 min).
  4. Transfer the steamed carrots into a deep bowl. Add approximately 6 tablespoons of olive oil (this will seem like a lot), and the juice from half of the lemon into the bowl. Mix well.
  5. Steam the broccoli, again on low heat, until tender (not mushy!), approx 6 min.
  6. Add the steamed broccoli to the bowl with the carrots and mix with the carrots.
  7. Combine the marinated veggies into pot of pasta. Add an extra 2 – 3 tbsp of olive oil if needed, to coat everything in a light layer of olive oil. Squeeze the remaining lemon half into the pot. Add the capers (to taste).
  8. Enjoy!

Note: You may want to add a bit of salt here, as well. I find that the capers add the amount of saltyness that I prefer, so I don’t add any.

I paired this with a light pinot grigio (not that I’m a wine expert) and it was delicious!

penne

0 Responses to “Springtime Supper”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Photobucket

