Veggie Garden

My husband and I planted a garden in March.  Okay, honestly, since we planted the first seeds 3 months ago he has been doing most all of the work. I’m good for an occasional weeding, but after a short while my allergies kick in and I’m useless. Needless to say (from the photo below), he and his green thumb have been doing a fantastic job.

It’s a cramped rectangular patch and with high deer fencing around it, it’s rather hard to get a good shot of the whole thing. This is my best attempt:

Garden View - June 2009

Here’s a quick run-down of what we’ve got growing:

On the right side, in front are the lettuce, cabbage, broccoli, behind that is a large trellis where we have strung up our hops (yes, as in beer…more on that in a future post), just behind that is a large patch of onions, and finally there’s a large raspberry bush in the back corner.

One the left side, there is a giant blackberry bush taking up the corner in the camera’s peripheral, then in front of that the bare patch is where corn will be sprouting soon (most of the beans we had originally planted didn’t make it), behind that is a large area with tomatoes, cucumbers, squash (all strung up), and peppers, then just behind that (which you can’t see) is a large patch of basil with 4 different varieties. We’re total pesto junkies.

There’s been a great deal of anticipation in the past 3 months – especially for me, since this is my first garden EVER. I’m in awe at seeing how the things I regularly eat actually grow. “Wow, the cabbage looks just like cabbage!” My husband shakes his head at me often.

CabbageNote: We don’t use pesticides, so the outer leaves of these lovely cabbages are a bit nibbled.

3 Responses to “Veggie Garden”


  1. 1 stina 2009 June 14 at 11:10 pm

    *sigh* I love your garden. I want your garden. But add together a complete lack of arable land, my boyfriend with allergies like yours, and my black thumb, and it amounts to grocery store produce and envy!

    • 2 rosemary 2009 June 16 at 3:03 pm

      Rooftop gardens are all the rage…you could make a killer one on top of your condo! As for the black thumb, you’d be surprised at how quickly it turns green. I know the farmer would love to give plant advice if you ever need any 🙂

  2. 3 Christina 2009 June 19 at 10:24 am

    Oh, I would liberally use his plant advice! I have read quite a bit on how popular the rooftop gardens are; however, without any rights to the rooftop of my condo (I don’t even think my place has access), I am foreclosed from this option 😦 Hence, I live vicariously through you and your gardening fun, until such time Michael gets his act together and makes three time my salary and buys us a better place 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Photobucket

