Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Rhubarb scares me.  Honestly, anything that must be cooked so that it isn’t poisonous anymore AND needs loads of sugar to mask the bitter taste REALLY ISN’T WORTH IT – so I’ve avoided it all these years.

rhubarb

My husband, however, loves the damn stuff, so this past weekend I decided to dust off his Aunt’s Rhubarb Crisp recipe and give it a go. I didn’t follow it exactly (where’s the fun in that?), but it turned out to be super easy and – I have to admit – awfully tasty. This is what I came up with:

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 stalks of rhubarb (cut in half long-ways, then chopped into 1/2 inch long pieces)
  • 1/2 quart of strawberries (leaves removed and cut into quarters)
  • 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 stick (8 Tbsp) butter (I had the salted kind on hand)
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1.5 cups old fashioned oats
  • Vanilla ice cream

DIRECTIONS

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium sized baking pan or casserole dish (I used one that was approximately 8″ x 11″), put the cubed rhubarb on the bottom and the strawberries on top (spread both evenly).  Sprinkle the 2 Tbsp of flour evenly over everything.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the rest of the ingredients to make the crisp topping. I used a pastry dough cutter to thoroughly combine everything.
  4. Spread crisp topping evenly over the rhubarb & strawberries. It will seem like there isn’t enough to cover the whole dish…use a spatula to spread it out as you go, so there’s a thin layer of crisp over everything.
  5. Cover with foil and bake for 30 min; remove foil and bake for an additional 15 min or until crisp is golden brown. Let cool and serve with vanilla ice cream.

NOTE: I happened to have a bit of sugar-cinnamon mixture lying around my kitchen, which I added on top of the crisp. To do this, you would mix 2 Tbsp sugar (run of the mill) and 0.5 – 1 tsp cinnamon.

Before cooking, it looked like this (clearly, I did a poor job spreading out the cinnamon-sugar topping):

rhubarb crisp before cooking

After baking (an extra minute or two in the oven would have browned it perfectly):rhubarb crisp after bakingVoila!

1 Response to “Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp”


  1. 1 Christina 2009 June 19 at 10:36 am

    I *looks* good, but I gotta tell you, I’m still not sold; those red weeds still scare Stina!


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Photobucket

