Cotton Anniversary

My 2nd wedding anniversary is coming up in August –  and I still haven’t finished our photo album from the ceremony & honeymoon. Slightly embarrassing…

Last year, my husband and I decided to give each other “traditional” wedding gifts (see tables like this one); our first was pretty easy, but this year’s cotton gift got me thinking. I knew I wanted to make the gift because – well,  I love making things – and we’re saving for a house so I can’t break the bank. I was hoping to have our t-shirt quilt ready, but an Aug deadline is waaay to ambitious for me, a first time quilter.

Luckily, I stumbled across a pattern for a crocheted bikini AND happened to have loads of Lily Sugar ‘N Cream in my stash. We’re going beach camping during the week of our anniversary, so this is perfect!

After some heavy pattern revisions, I came up with this:

cotton bikini

Here’s how I modified kusine’s Hottie from the Blue Lagoon Bikini pattern:

I used almost 2 balls of the MC (striped) and approx 1/2 a ball of the CC (solid) with a size 4.5mm hook.

Be warned that I fit this to myself as I make it. You may need to increase, decrease, lengthen, or shorten to fit yourself. For perspective, I’m a C cup (the top is a bit smallish on me) and usually a size Small for bottoms. Note that the bottoms aren’t full coverage; more of a Brazilian cut.

Note:      sc = single crochet                 dc = double crochet

TOP

Foundation chain: With MC, chain 27

Row 1: Sc in second chain from hook, sc in each chain across. Turn. (26 sc)

Row 2-12: Ch 1, skip first sc, sc in each sc across. Turn. (26 sc)

Row 13: Ch 1, skip first sc, sc in next 12 sc. Turn. (13 sc)

Row 17-24: Ch 1, skip first sc, sc in next 11 sc, ending in ch 1 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (13 sc)

Fasten off after row 24. Repeat for second cup.

Sew short ends of L-shape together (see diagram). The foundation chain row should always be towards the middle of your chest (you’ll have to sew one cup right side together and one wrong side together).

Sew inner 3/4” of an inner bottom of cups together.

Sew in all ends.

With CC, sc around entire top, with 3 sc in each corner.

To make ties, attach yarn at each corner and ch 65. Weave in ends.

BOTTOM (starting from the back):

Foundation row: With CC, ch 51.

Row 1: Sc in first chain from hook, sc in each ch across. Turn. (50 sc)

Row 2: Ch 1, dec one stitch at each end, sc in all other sc. Turn. (48 sc)

Row 3: Ch 1, dec one stitch at each end, sc in all other sc, ending in ch 1 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (46 sc)

Row 4: As Row 3. (44 sc)

Row 5: As Row 3. (42 sc)

Row 6: With MC, ch 2, skip first sc, dc in each sc across, ending in ch 1 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (42 dc)

Row 7: Ch 2, dec one stitch at each end, dc in all other dc, ending in ch 2 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (40 dc)

Rows 8-20: As Row 7, following chart for stitch count. Note that some rows do not require a decrease, while others require a decrease of 4 stitches per row.

Row Stitches
8 38
9 38
10 36
11 36
12 34
13 34
14 34
15 30
16 28
17 24
18 20
19 16
20 12

Row 21: Ch 2, dec one stitch at each end, dc in all other dc, ending in ch 2 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (10 dc)

Row 22: Ch 2, skip first dc, dc in each dc across, ending in ch 2 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (10 dc)

Rows 23-26: Repeat Row 22. (10 dc)

Row 27: Ch 2, inc one stitch in the middle of the row, dc in all other dc, ending in ch 2 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (11 dc)

Row 28: Repeat Row 27 (12 dc)

Row 29: Ch 2, inc one stitch at each end, dc in all other dc, ending in ch 2 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (14 dc)

Rows 30 – 33: Repeat Row 29 (16 dc; 18 dc; 20 dc; 22 dc)

Rows 34- 36: Ch 2, inc 2 stitches at each end, dc in all other dc, ending in ch 2 turning of previous row. Turn. (26 dc; 30 dc; 34 dc)

Rows 37-38: Ch 2, inc one stitch at each end, dc in all other dc, ending in ch 2 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (36 dc; 38 dc)

Row 39: With CC, ch 1 skip first dc, sc in each dc across, ending in ch 2 turning of previous row. Turn. (38 sc)

Rows 40-41: Ch 1, skip first sc, sc in each sc across, ending in ch1 turning chain of previous row. Turn. (38 sc)

Make ties, attach yarn at each corner and ch 55. Weave in all ends.

Please note that this material is largely kusine’s and therefore is subject to her copyright; my modifications are subject to my copyright. Both kusine’s orgininal pattern and my modifications are only for personal, non-profit use and are NOT allowed for commercial use or sale.

© rambleonrosemary.wordpress.com  All rights reserved.

1 Response to “Cotton Anniversary”


  1. 1 Stina 2009 August 4 at 12:25 am

    Wow. What talent!

    I am fairly certain I would wipe the craft store out of yarn to cover up my tatas!

    Pre-emptive happy anniversary to you and mr. rosemary :0)


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Photobucket

