Straight Needle Case & A Note on Hems

I have great collection of straight needles (mostly metal) that I inherited from my grandmother, but ever since I started using my new Harmony wood interchangeables, these old friends have been a bit neglected. I’d never dream of getting rid of them, but needed a way to keep them tucked together and stored safely – so I made a roll-up needle case.

Here’s a view of the inside (should have ironed…):Needle Case Inside

My plan was to make a flap for the shorter needles, but they seem to stay in place when it’s all rolled up so I let it be (my sewing skills aren’t the best, so why push it?). I opted for the large pockets to hold several needles at once, but there’s plenty of space to sew up individual pockets for each pair if I get annoyed with the chaos.

Also note that I added a layer of bamboo batting between the two layers of fabric to give the case some substance. I love it!

Needle Case Rolled Up

~~~~~

Before I end this post (and on a random side-note), I’d like to give a shout-out to Reachel Bagley of Cardigan Empire – I used her tutorial on how to hem jeans last night and was incredibly impressed. Her tutorial was simple, easy to follow and a WAY better approach to hems than I had learned as a kid. My jeans look fabulous…and fit perfectly!

2 Responses to “Straight Needle Case & A Note on Hems”


  1. 1 Stina 2009 August 24 at 7:51 pm

    FYI I love that pattern. Talking love as in I would make throw pillows with that pattern or a duvet. Fabu.


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Photobucket

