Newest Additions to the Farm Family

My husband and I just purchased two Angora goats to keep as pets / for show at the fall festival AND to use for fiber production. I’m SO excited! And yes, I realize this means I’ve gone off the deep end and into eccentric territory. I’m totally okay with that.

Their names are Ivan and Hamlet. Ivan is the larger light grey one; Hamlet is the smaller horned dark grey one. They are both unquestionably ADORABLE:

Ivan and Hamlet Getting Fed

Ivan & Hamlet's First Day at the FarmThese were taken right after we had gotten them in their barn (not such fabulous light). Ivan is in front, while Hamlet hides behind him – Hamlet’s pretty skittish and is ALWAYS trying to hide behind Ivan. Hopefully he’ll mellow.

Isn’t their fleece gorgeous?! Hamlet’s previous owner had just (mostly) sheared him before we arrived. You can see there’s still some fleece around his belly, legs and neck, but his back and sides are short. Ivan is fully fleeced and due for shearing. More on that next time!

PS – Their eyes aren’t really blue. Isn’t it hilarious how human eyes show up red in flash photos, while goats turn out blue? I think I’d rather be a goat.

3 Responses to “Newest Additions to the Farm Family”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 September 15 at 11:33 am

    You lucky lucky girl! Murray and I have been thinking about getting alpacas (being in a London flat not so conducive to this sadly!). He grew up on a goat farm and knows way to much about how to milk various animals ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 2 rosemary 2009 September 15 at 12:04 pm

      Oooh, that would be nice! It’s wonderful that Murray has experience with farm animals – I’m sure you’ll get some alpacas sooner or later ๐Ÿ™‚ And in the mean time, if you’re ever back in the States, the goats would love to see you!


  1. 1 Because I really know how to shear a goat… « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2009 September 9 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Photobucket

