Shearing (Reprise)

This weekend, Hubby and I set out to finish shearing Hamlet. I looked at electric clippers online and BOY are they expensive! I figured that since I was only doing half a goat, I could get by with my trusty kitchen scissors.  And – surprisingly – it went much better than last time. I wasn’t exactly fast (took about 1hr), but I did a good job minimizing my second cuts and getting long staple lengths. Progress! I also managed to shear much more of Hamlet compared with Ivan. At one point, Hamlet kept trying to lay down and Hubby (who was holding his horns during the process) suggested that maybe he’d let us lay him on his side / back to shear the underside – and he did! Who knew these goats (even skittish little Hamlet) would be so pliable come shearing time.

I tried to get an after-shearing shot of Hamlet, but he was camera shy after his ordeal. This is the best I could do:

Hamlet Post-ShearingHis coat length is MUCH more even than Ivan’s, though I still wouldn’t call it a professional job. In fact, I think I’m going to have to redo Ivan – there’s just way to much wool left on him.  Poor guy!

2 Responses to “Shearing (Reprise)”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 September 15 at 11:34 am

    Do you spin? I have no experience of this, but I can’t wait to see what you do with the fiber!

    • 2 rosemary 2009 September 15 at 11:58 am

      I don’t know how to spin yet, but I’ve signed up for a class in November that takes you through the whole process (choosing fiber, carding, spinning, etc). In the mean time I’m going to try to learn the drop spindle method with some roving I bought at a fiber festival last year. I’ll post along the way 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Photobucket

