A first try at spinning

Last year a good friend and I went to the Fall Fiber Festival & Sheepdog Trials just outside Orange, VA. We were beginner-intermediate level knitters and had NO CLUE about fiber production, spinning, etc. (Roving? What’s roving?) Needless to say, it was slightly overwhelming but opened our eyes to many wonderful new types of craft. We were especially excited about spinning, so I walked away having purchased only 2 items: a drop spindle and 3 dyed “sheep tails” for $0.75 each.

Now, I’m going to be honest here and admit that these items stayed in a bag on my craft shelf for 11 months. But this week, I pulled them out and decided to give it a go – what an experience! I’m not sure what “sheep tails” are, but I’m thinking it means “poorly carded, impossible to draft lumps of fiber” – I guess you get what you pay for.  I finally gave up trying to draft and pulled off strips of fiber that were the length I’d want post-drafting and spun that way. (I’m sure that was painful for all you spinning buffs out there!) But in any case, this is what I ended up with after working through 2 of my 3 “tails”:

Spindle Spinning

Can anyone tell if it looks over spun? I get the feeling it is, but can’t find any good references to say for sure. Maybe I have to wait until after finishing to know?

2 Responses to “A first try at spinning”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 September 20 at 6:46 am

    Gorgeous! I know nothing about spinning, but it looks great to me!


  1. 1 Niddy Noddy « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2009 October 3 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Photobucket

