Knitted Dress Update

Perhaps you’ve been wondering, dear readers, what happened to the knitted dress I was working on in September? Sadly, it is now a UFO (unfinished object), languishing on my craft table. I realized shortly before the wedding to which I had intended it to wear it, that it wasn’t quite dressy enough (invitations asked for semi-formal attire). So my knitting screeched to a halt while I tried to figure out what the hell to wear. I ended up using  my “little black dress,” which I’ve had for over 5 yrs now (I can’t believe I just admitted that!) and which as gotten me out of several such binds. Here’s a (not so fabulous) photo of me wearing it at college graduation:

LittleBlackDress

And, in fact, I love this dress so much that it was the inspiration behind my wedding dress, made (through some amazing stroke of luck) by Wendy Pepper:

Wedding Dress

Wedding Dress 2

Okay, okay – back to the knitted dress. Here’s what it looks like now:

Knitted Dress Update

Can you tell that I like designs where one side crosses over the other and joins at the waist? Is there a name for this style? Anyhow, I think I’m going to make the tunic version of this dress because, honestly, I think I’ll get more use out of it. But it’s already gotten chilly here… and I can’t see myself wearing a sleeveless top anytime soon… so it’s going to stay in UFO land for a bit while I finish my winter gift projects.

4 Responses to “Knitted Dress Update”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 October 3 at 5:57 pm

    LOVE your wedding dress! So nice to have one made for you. I would call the style of the dresses “wrap dresses”, but that’s just me. And I think that the knitted dress will actually be really cute as a wrap top. Where was the wedding? – the mountains are beautiful! (They don’t let you get married outside over here – crazy!)

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 October 3 at 6:46 pm

    Thanks, Meghan! Our wedding was in Telluride, Colorado, on the deck of a ski lodge. The ceremony was almost held inside, but the rain managed to clear up just in time.

    No outdoor weddings?! Church or courthouse, then? [I’m learning so much about the UK from you.] Where did you have your ceremony?

    Ah, wrap dress! That’s a perfect description of the style.

    • 3 Meghan 2009 October 4 at 6:47 am

      Nope, nothing outdoors – and nothing after sundown! We had ours at Pitzhanger Manor – the former home of an 18th C architect that’s near our house. Then we had our reception at the Globe Theatre! (Well, not in the actual theatre as such, but a part of the extension.) I guess it’s not too big a deal that you can’t get married outside here – it’s bound to rain anyway!

  3. 4 rosemary 2009 October 4 at 2:52 pm

    What gorgeous locations! I can see why it’s not such a problem to have them indoors 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Photobucket

