Hat Woes

I finished the color-worked hat yesterday and it’s MUCH too big! I have the most awful time making hats that fit. This is now the SECOND time I’ve tried to make a toddler hat and had it come out too big even for my head. I do a gauge swatch, I count stitches – the problem is that my gauge changes significantly between each time I cast-on. Sigh.

Hubby had been eyeing the hat while I was knitting and I think it’s actually big enough to fit him… fortunately, it will work for someone.

Hubby Hat

Also, I missed the memo on jogless stripes. Sigh (again). Now to make good hats for those toddler twins…

Stripes that jog

7 Responses to “Hat Woes”


  1. 1 Stina 2009 October 21 at 8:55 pm

    I don’t know what in the world a jogless stripe is, but the hat is super cute nonetheless!

    • 2 rosemary 2009 October 22 at 9:14 am

      Thanks, Stina! See how in the second picture it looks like there’s a seam? I actually knit this hat in the round, so there is no seam…but the stripes have a slight disconnect, making it look like one. It’s possible to avoid this and make a “jogless” stripe, which is what I’m working on now πŸ™‚

  2. 3 Meghan 2009 October 22 at 5:09 am

    Ah, the jogless stripe! It still looks lovely though – glad it found a happy home!

  3. 5 Autumn 2009 December 30 at 11:28 am

    I too just learned the jogless stripe lesson. Luckily, it is on a beret so they can just put the line on the slouch side. πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Snow! « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2009 December 5 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Photobucket

