Coffee Cup Cozy from Handspun

I finally knit up my very first handspun into a coffee (or “to go”) cup cozy. Not that I condone the use of disposable cups, mind you! But sometimes they can’t be avoided…and in that case it’s nice to have a reusable cozy.  Here it is decorating my office mate’s coffee cup:

Cup Cozy

And here’s what it looks like laying flat:

Cup Cozy Flat

Notice how it flares out at the top? I wish I could say I planned that, but honestly I just happened to spin that portion of the yarn thicker, so I got an “increases” without actually doing any. If you’re using uniform yarn (as I’m sure 99% of you will be), I recommend increasing to give this flared shape.

Here’s the pattern I came up with:

Approx 25 yds of worsted yarn

Size US 8 DPNs

Gauge: Eh, I wouldn’t worry about it too much. Most anything you make with this yarn / needle combination will fit a coffee cup.

CO 32 sts – join in the round and spread across 3 needles

Round 1 – K all

Round 2 – P all

Round 3 – P1, *(K1, P1), repeat from * to last stitch, K1

Round 4 – Repeat round 3

Repeat these 4 rounds 5 additional times (a total of 24 rounds). Increases to get the flared end can be done in the knit only rows of the last 2 pattern repeats; 2 additional stitches each increase row should do it.

Round 25 – K all

Round 26 – P all

Bind off and tuck in ends. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Coffee Cup Cozy from Handspun”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 November 6 at 7:48 am

    Oh lovely! How exciting to have something that you have really made from start to finish (aside from being a wool-producing sheep!). You should be so proud!

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 November 6 at 11:59 am

    Thanks, Meghan! I’m really excited 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Photobucket

