More Handspun

I just finished washing & drying my second batch of handspun. I used the “clover” colored merino / tencel roving I purchased at the Orange, VA Fiber Festival from The Drafting Zone. Boy, what a different experience from those “sheep tails” – this stuff drafted like butta! I spun it kind of thickly (probably Aran, though I haven’t checked the WPI) and got 70 yards from the 8 oz I started with. Holy cow, it takes a lot of roving to make a garment! Fortunately, I bought plenty of roving in colors and fibers that coordinate well together; my plan is to spin everything up and mix & match to make a…well, I haven’t exactly decided what yet 🙂

Clover Merino / Tencel handspunLooks kind of blue-ish in the photo, but it’s really a light, minty green.

3 Responses to “More Handspun”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 November 10 at 11:59 am

    Wow – love it! You would have totally inspired me to start spinning… that is, if I could drag myself away from the actual knitting long enough!

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 November 10 at 7:23 pm

    Haha, I completely understand. I’m torn between spinning and knitting these days…I really like spinning, but I have pretty holiday gifts to finish! Oh well 🙂


  1. 1 Handspun Hat « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2010 November 4 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Photobucket

