Our Cats

At the risk of sounding like a crazy cat lady, I’m going to devote this entire post to our cats, Luna and Draco. They showed up at the farm a couple years ago as tiny, starving kittens, and hubby convinced me to keep them. The thing is, readers, I’m allergic. VERY allergic. Which is a shame because I really do like cats – something about their self-reliant slinkyness; so aloof and yet so snuggly.  Our cats live outdoors – they roam around the farm, hunting mice and birds (and goodness knows what else) at night, nap the day away on our porch, and get plenty of love from all the people that work & live here.  I was wary of keeping them at first, but now I’m so glad we did – I get to go outside and pet them, then wash my hands, and go back into my cat-free home (and never have to deal with a litter box!).

I took this photo on Saturday – Draco is quite the daredevil, perching himself on high places like our second-story barn window (which is right outside the front door to our apartment):

For some perspective, this is the view to the ground (we live right over a workshop):

Draco as a kitten (such big ears!):

And not to leave Luna out, here’s one of her as a kitten, already showing off her vicious-killer side (notice the mouse by her back paw):

Luna is a little bit too cool to hang out with us all the time. She roams around the farm and comes back every few days for some attention.  Draco, on the other hand, follows us around like a puppy dog, and isn’t always very bright – we think he might have suffered a bit of brain damage from his ordeal as a kitten – but it just makes him more lovable.

4 Responses to “Our Cats”


  1. 1 Stina 2009 November 17 at 10:04 am

    Awh! Someday they will come up with a cure for your crippling allegies and you will get to snuggle some kitty babies. Btw we bought christmas costumes for the cats, so you know, your post doesn’t take you near the crazy cat lady hall of shame 😉

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 November 17 at 10:42 am

    Agreed. I wish they’d hurry up with the cat allergy cure…or all allergy cures for that matter!
    Christmas costumes?! Hilarious! I hope you’re planning to take photos 🙂

  3. 3 Meghan 2009 November 19 at 4:50 pm

    Awwww they are so cute – although that picture with the dead mouse kind of freaked me out a bit! I loooove cats – yes I am a crazy cat lady already. I had to take our girl (Janga) to the vet today and she is still a little mad at me. I think the dog owners in the waiting room thought I was mental for talking in my cat voice to her…

  4. 4 rosemary 2009 November 20 at 12:50 pm

    Sorry, I should have put a warning before the mouse photo! Ugh, you should see what gets left on our doorstep (don’t worry, I’ll NEVER post pictures of that!).

    Aww, hope your Janga is back to well and happy after the vet 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Photobucket

