Berkeley Springs, WV

This past weekend, hubby and I took a short trip to Berkeley Springs, WV – a cute little artsy, hippie haven in an otherwise middle-of-nowhere county – that we’ve been visiting every year since 2006. It’s just a 2 hr drive from the farm and has the most wonderful spas and restaurants (such as Tari’s and Lot 12), in addition to art galleries and antique shops.  Berkeley Springs is the source of mineral-rich “warm springs” (hence all the spas) and has been host to several of our founding fathers, who frequented the springs for relaxation and medicinal purposes. Lots of great history in a really low-key, yet fun atmosphere.

Here are some photos of the town square (where the warm springs originate):

The mineral water bubbles up into this trough and is channeled throughout the park by way of several canals.

I’m usually not a huge fan of antiques partially due to my allergies and partially due to my perceived “ickyness” at buying really old used stuff (silly, I know) – but we did make a couple purchases I’m excited about. Hubby found these old, rusty shears and has promised to get them cleaned up and in working order for us to use on the goats:

And I found some old wooden thread bobbins to use in some future crafting adventure (okay, I don’t really have a plan for them – but aren’t they cool?!):

7 Responses to “Berkeley Springs, WV”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 November 24 at 10:11 am

    Love it – I have to admit I love old stuff (this is the house that ebay built) – I love the shears and the bobbins! This is just the kind of place that would be great for Murray and I to visit over Christmas. Sounds like you had a lovely weekend!

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 November 24 at 2:35 pm

    Oooh, does that mean you and Murray will be in VA over the holidays? It would be really great to meet up if you have time – we’ll be back in VA from vacation out west on Jan 1. No pressure, though!

    I don’t know what it is with me…I’m all for reusing, recycling relatively new-ish stuff, but something about antiques (1950s and earlier) totally weirds me out. Can’t handle it. I’ll go into antique shops, but I almost never touch anything – maybe I need professional help 🙂

  3. 3 stina 2009 November 24 at 3:00 pm

    no, no professional help needed. for the most part, I despise antiques. although, I love those bobbins; they are adorable. most antiques give me the heebie jeebies. plus, a lot of them are old, rusty, ugly, and who knows what kind of materials were used in making them! (see your book of old household remedies using quicksilver in daily applications!). I love antique toys a lot more than the crappy plastic toys they have now, but who knows it they were made colorful with lead paints.

    No, reuse, reduce, recycle is good when turning the bulk of that old, historically useless crap into new, technologically awesome stuff.

    Maybe we can join the same support group 🙂

  4. 5 Meghan 2009 November 24 at 6:21 pm

    Yep – Murray and I will be in the area from Christmas Eve until the 3rd of January – if we could meet sometime in between when you get back and when we leave that would be great! I would love to meet your goats 🙂 and your hubby of course!

    • 6 rosemary 2009 November 24 at 11:55 pm

      Wonderful, it would be really great to meet Murray and see you again! Maybe we could work out the details via email a little closer to your trip? Really no pressure, though – you guys are coming from so far away, I’m sure you’ve got TONS of demands on your time.

  5. 7 Meghan 2009 November 25 at 11:17 am

    Email it is! I think I’ve got yours 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Photobucket

