Tree Trimming

While I’m not much for the religious side of things, I really do enjoy the tradition of trimming a tree during the holidays. The farm began selling trees & wreaths the day after Thanksgiving, so this past weekend Hubby and I went down to the corner stand and I picked out a fraser fir. By tree standards, Hubby tells me I picked a funky one – long and tall, rather than bushy; some gaps between the boughs,  some branches much longer than others – but I think it’s perfectly adorable.

We used LED lights this year, so our tree has more of a brightness to it than I’m used to – but I’m willing to make the concession in favor of energy savings:

We’re slowly accumulating ornaments [we purchase them as vacation souvenirs], and while the tree looks much more decorated than our first Christmas together, we certainly have a ways to go.

By next year, my plan is to knit a star-shaped topper (raveled here) and a tree skirt (raveled here)…oh, and there’s Hubby’s cross-stitch stocking I’m now on YEAR 4 of making. Sigh. I see lots of year-round holiday knitting / stitching in my future!

4 Responses to “Tree Trimming”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 December 8 at 5:00 am

    Oh it’s lovely 🙂 I think the tree you picked has a sort of Victorian vibe to it being tall and with some gaps – it looks gorgeous! Us urbanites here just put up our fake one – but it’s not the same!

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 December 8 at 11:14 am

    There’s nothing wrong with artificial trees! It’s all about getting into the holiday spirit with the people you love…and besides, they’re probably better for the environment 🙂

    Ah, I see what you mean about the Victorian look! Maybe I should make a more lacy Victorian style tree skirt? Hmmm. Knitting is so much fun 🙂

  3. 3 Stina 2009 December 8 at 9:46 pm

    I think mike is just going to start calling me
    Grinch. I haven’t gotten around to decorating anything, and frankly I don’t really have much drive to do so. Cookies and candy; sure! Décor I have to clean up when I get home from AZ, meh.

    • 4 rosemary 2009 December 8 at 10:39 pm

      I totally understand! We really enjoy the tradition of having & decorating a tree…but we always take it down before we leave for AZ (only because Lucas insists). It’s kind of a fuss to only have up for 2 or 3 weeks.


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Photobucket

