Socks

This winter Hubby and I are going to visit my Aunt and Uncle in CA, who I only get to see every few years (and who hubby has never met). I decided I’d like to knit them both holiday gifts, but wasn’t too sure of their tastes – so I finally settled on socks. Everyone loves socks, right? And if you don’t like them they’re easy to hide under pants & shoes! Socks it is – except that I’ve never actually made adult socks. So I searched for some free patterns on ravelry and came across the Naive Socks pattern by SpillyJane (raveled here) to knit for my Aunt. I love the pattern so far – not too hard, but not too simple.

They’re knit from the cuff down; I’ve almost finished the leg portion of the first one – lots of pretty cables (sorry, the light from my window wasn’t fabulous this morning):

The stripey yarn washes out the cables a bit, but not too badly:

Now I just have to figure out this heel-turning business…

As for SpillyJane, I’m in love with her designs. I want to knit most everything she’s created, especially these adorable pear mittens, which are now very high on my to-knit list.

She blogs here and her ravelry designer page is here.

4 Responses to “Socks”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 December 12 at 8:53 am

    Ooo the swedish fish mittens are on my list too! Isn’t she clever?

  2. 2 rosemary 2009 December 13 at 8:11 pm

    Those are adorable! Maybe a knit-along is in our future? 🙂


  1. 1 Winter Vacation « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2010 January 4 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Photobucket

