Lung Tie

My dad is a pulmonologist (lung doctor) and this year I decided to make him something lung-themed for his holiday gift. I thought about knitting him a giant lung (there is actually a ravelry pattern for it!), but ultimately decided to make him a tie with lung embroidery, because he often wears ties. However,  sewing and embroidery are by far my weakest crafty skill-sets, so this project was a big challenge for me.

I found the pattern for the tie (Osman Tie) at BurdaStyle and purchased it for a very reasonable $2.00. Then I sent out to my local fabric store and bought several yards of medium gray silk (plenty of extra) and some navy suiting wool to use as the tie liner. [Note this is the true color of the fabrics.]:

The pattern was very well written and easy to follow – I had no problems whatsoever. But I decided to use a double layer of the suiting wool for the liner because one layer didn’t seem substantial enough. Here’s an incredibly blurry photo of the liner laid inside the pieced-together silk (notice how jagged my cuts are – yikes!):

And here’s a shot from later in the day when I had wrangled all the folds into place and pinned it…took me forever! Please excuse the poor lighting:

After pinning I did a loose basting stitch along the tie seam to keep it together, which apparently is done on all ties  – I had no idea.

As for the embroidery, I love Jenny Hart’s Sublime Stitching patterns and noticed a while back that the “Vital Organs” pattern pack includes a lung, among other awesome anatomical parts. My dad really likes the color purple (yep, I said purple), so I purchased two shades of it in silk embroidery thread and set to work. Now, dear readers, I’m under no illusion that my work below is actually good, but it’s passable – and I’m totally okay with that. Once again, please excuse the poor lighting – it was horribly foggy this morning…and clearly, I need to iron the creases out:

I just got these labels made and am really excited to use one for the first time!

I didn’t have any tissue paper on hand, so I’ve wrapped the tie in paper towels for now – not so pretty, but it works:

Phwew! That was fun, but stressful. I should have practiced embroidering something simple like pillowcases first. Or better yet, stick to knitting!

3 Responses to “Lung Tie”


  1. 1 Meghan 2009 December 16 at 5:19 am

    That tie is AMAZING. Your dad will absolutely love it (I know my dad would.) The embroidery looks perfect to me! I mean it’s really great! And the label is so cute 🙂 I might have to rustle one of these up for my dad soon – well done!

  2. 2 Stina 2009 December 16 at 10:45 am

    Omg rose! That is so frickin awesome! Your dad will love it! You know he will tell all his patients that his super amazing genius daughter made it for him!

  3. 3 rosemary 2009 December 16 at 7:29 pm

    Awww, thanks ladies 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Photobucket

