Learning to Knit

My youngest sibling is 9 yrs old and from an early age she’s shown an aptitude for all things crafty – unlike my teenage sister and tween-aged brother (there’s quite an age gap between me and them) – which I have to admit, makes me really really happy. Last year I got her a small cross-stitch kit and she patiently stitched away at it, working for several hours at a time to finish it in less than a week. I can’t help gushing. I’ve never seen such fortitude in a kid so young!

This year, I decided she was ready for knitting, so I purchased her a set of US 8 and US 10.5 knitting needles and (admittedly) destashed on her some Sugar ‘n’ Cream Cotton, Boucle and Fun Fur. We didn’t have a chance to sit down for our knitting lesson until we were at the hotel near Disneyland, but here she is knitting away:

She learned VERY quickly and I bet she’s going to be a much better knitter than her Big Sis as time goes by. Woot!

3 Responses to “Learning to Knit”


  1. 1 Stina 2010 January 7 at 10:40 am

    I bet she looking up to you has a lot to do with some of that fortitude. She has a rockin older sister to emulate!

  2. 2 rosemary 2010 January 7 at 1:52 pm

    aww thanks, chica 🙂

  3. 3 meghanaf 2010 January 8 at 10:39 am

    I didn’t know you even had siblings! I wish Murray’s nieces were close by (as opposed to Australia) so I could teach them. Got them crafty Christmas presents this year though. What a cute photo!


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Photobucket

