Faux-Dermy

In recent years, my Mom has developed an inexplicable liking of taxidermy. My parents aren’t hunters and my mom is actually pescitarian, so her decision to outfit the basement with a stuffed moose head and baby black bear was baffling. And despite my pleading, she won’t get rid of them.

Cruelty issues aside, taxidermy just grosses me out. Ick. But through the magic of Etsy, I’ve discovered that I’m a HUGE fan of faux-dermy. Maybe it’s my inner smart-alec trying to take a jab at Mom, or maybe – deep down – I really do share her taste in decorating (ahhhhh!)? Either way, I have been lusting after several items. Most notably:

[Image credit: rubyslounge etsy shop]

Resin dear heads covered in wallpaper by Ruby’s Lounge. The paisley print on the left is my absolute favorite – it’s chic, kitschy, and whimsical, all at the same time. Love, love it. She also does amazing wolf and rhino heads.

[Image credit: girlsavage etsy shop]

Girl Savage does all manner of feltidermy – mounted trophies and plush animals of many different species –  but my absolute favorite are her mounted jackalope heads. Whimsical and incredibly well crafted. I can’t wait to get one!

[Image credit: cardboardsafari etsy shop]

Last, but not least, Cardboard Sarfari brings the joy of faux-dermy to your home for a very affordable price using sustainable materials (cardboard!). They have a wide variety of items in their Etsy shop – everything from inanimate objects like rockets and hearts, to the moose head pictured above – which I love!

Now to find some wall-space for these wonderful items…

2 Responses to “Faux-Dermy”


  1. 1 meghanaf 2010 February 3 at 4:56 am

    Hilarious. That’s so funny about your mom – how random! I really like the top wallpapered ones too. I definitely think you should go for it!


  1. 1 Recent Etsy Purchases « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2010 March 14 at 12:28 am

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Photobucket

