Olympics

I’ve really enjoyed watching the winter Olympics this year – such amazing, skilled competitors. I’m truly in awe. I just wish I could send the snowfall from our recent blizzard(s!) to Vancouver. Isn’t it crazy that we’re getting so much and they so little?

This year, I decided to get in the spirit of the games and participate in the Yarn Harlot’s Knitting Olympics. After finishing the socks for my Aunt, I decided that a pair of socks for my Uncle would be a nice project. He’s a person that appreciates simplicity, so I’ve chosen to make him a basic pair of mens socks using worsted weight superwash wool from KnitPicks (the project is raveled here). It’s not a challenging pattern but I have a serious problems with second-sockitus, so the challenge would be to finish both within the 17-day time constraint.

Last Friday, I made swatches and decided on a US 5 for the ribbing around the cuff and US 6 for the body of the sock:

I got started on the first sock Saturday afternoon and by Monday night I had finished the first one! This pattern was even easier than I imagined and I love the result – a nice, simple sock:

So, dear readers, in the spirit of good sports(wo)manship, I am officially disqualifying myself from the Knitting Olympics. I chose a project that was not very challenging – and the first sock went so quickly that I have plenty of motivation to finish the second one. Ah well, I’ll choose wiser next time. Best of luck to this year’s competitors!!!

0 Responses to “Olympics”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Photobucket

