Adventures with Rowan Cashsoft DK

While looking through my stash a couple weeks ago, I unearthed 3 balls of Rowan Cashsoft DK (2 teal, 1 gray) along with the first few rows of a hat I had intended to make for Hubby. I started this project years ago – and it’s a good thing I never finished it, because while I love Hubby dearly, he’s not the kind of guy that can wear a handwash-only hat.

So I ripped it apart and decided to knit mittens for myself per Joeli Caparco’s Corazon (Knitty Pattern), though I made my own snowflake pattern in place of the heart motif.

As you can see,  the color combo of the teal and gray Cashsoft DK completely washed out the design. No good!

The palm wasn’t quite so washed out, but definitely nothing special. [You can barely see the waste yarn for the afterthought thumb in the top right.]

Back to the drawing board. I ripped out the mittens and searched through my Ravelry queue for a new project and ultimately decided upon the Lace-Edged Women’s Hat by Julie Hentz. I decided to use up my one ball of gray Cashsoft on this project and I am very happy with the result (Raveled here). It’s SO amazingly soft and comfy!

But now I’m not sure what to do with the 2 balls of teal I have left. Maybe a slouchy beret? Any ideas???

2 Responses to “Adventures with Rowan Cashsoft DK”


  1. 1 meghanaf 2010 March 10 at 5:57 pm

    Oh I love Cashsoft. It really is soft! Lovely hat – too bad about the mittens. There are so many lovely beret and fingerless glove/mitten patterns out there the choices are endless really aren’t they?

  2. 2 janette nash 2010 March 14 at 11:44 pm

    As you have made this, maybe you can help me to understand what I’m not grasping with the hat pattern – I’m trying to knit this, for a friend in chemo, and keep having to rip it out… it’s sized in multiples of 6 stitches…

    Cast on 84 (90,96) stitches on 16″ circular needle.
    Row 1: purl.
    Row 2: *yo, k1, sk2p, k1, yo, k1* (repeat around).
    Row 3: knit.
    Row 4: *k1, yo, sk2p, yo, k2* (repeat around).
    Row 5: Knit.
    Repeat rows 2-5 two times.
    Row 14: Knit.
    Continue knitting all rounds until piece measures 5 (5, 5.5) inches from bottom.

    I understand row 2, but row 4 only gives me 5 stitches… Unless yo means yarn over AND knit, in which case row 2 gives me 8 stitches…

    I am so fed up with ripping this out – please explain???

    Thank you!

    Janette


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Photobucket

