The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test

Hubby loves to walk in the woods around the farm, and since some of these walks occur during hunting season, we both agree that he should have a bright orange hat. I offered to knit it and set out to find some yarn – which was easier said than done.  I found some bright oranges in cotton and acrylic, but I really wanted to make him a wool hat. Fortunately, this dilemma coincided with my good friend Sara starting to experiment with kool-aid dying in her crockpot, so she agreed to dye some Knit Picks Bare Superwash Merino for me in bright orange.

She calls this colorway “Koi,” which I think is totally fitting – isn’t it lovely? She gave it to me in a hank and I wish I had taken photos of it before winding into a ball, you could really see the changes in color density. She said the superwash wool was particularly dye thirsty, so not only did it take a LOT of kool-aid (7 packets for 100 g), but the parts that touched the dye first are much brighter. The yarn also smells ever-so-faintly of orange, which I love.

I’ve started making a hat for Hubby (improvised pattern) with wide ribbed brim that will be folded up like a fisherman’s cap. Once I finish, I’ll post the pattern here.

Sara has also agreed to dye some sport weight yarn for me to make socks. I’ve given her complete creative license and am really excited to see what she makes!

4 Responses to “The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test”


  1. 2 Stina 2010 March 18 at 7:26 pm

    I think I want to lick “Hubby’s” hat.


  1. 1 Now You See Me Hat « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2010 March 22 at 3:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Photobucket

