Cloth Napkins

I sat down this afternoon to make cloth napkins. I used homespun cotton fabric, which I can only describe as somewhere between quilting cotton and flannel. It’s much lighter than flannel, but softer and (possibly) more absorbent than quilting cotton.

I tried to pick colors that were pretty, but also practical – hopefully able to withstand many uses & washes without looking icky. The amounts of each fabric vary in yardage from 5/8 to 1-3/4 yard.

I first cut each of the fabrics into 12″ squares yielding 36 total. I decided to make square corner napkins using the second part of this wonderful Skip to My Lou tutorial; they’re simple, functional and (honestly) easier on my beginning-sewer brain than the mitered corner version. I chose to work with only 15 of the fabric squares – seemed like plenty to start with. I’ve stored the others in my fabric stash to be pulled out and finished as needed.

I did all the ironing first, then sat down to my sewing machine to stitch them up using a cream colored cotton thread.


All done and super easy – can’t wait to start using them! And incidentally, this is the first New Year’s resolution project I can officially cross off the list. Here’s a recap of the projects I have left to complete:

  1. Christmas stockings for Lucas and myself
  2. Wedding Photo Album
  3. P.J.s for Lucas
  4. T-shirt Quilt
  5. Cloth Napkins
  6. Topper for Christmas Tree
  7. Process Ivan and Hamlet’s Mohair

9 months and 6 projects to go!

3 Responses to “Cloth Napkins”


  1. 1 stina 2010 March 29 at 2:38 pm

    I am stina’s raging jealousy! Those are super cute, rosey posey. I gave up sewing for Lent – and you know, for everything else since I don’t have time or a sewing maching, but if I hadn’t, I would make placemats sort of like those. They look divine!

  2. 2 Meghan 2010 March 30 at 5:05 am

    Good work!! I am inspired….!

  3. 3 rosemary 2010 March 30 at 11:31 am

    Thanks, Ladies!

    Placemats are a wonderful idea, Stina! Hmm…I do have some fabric scraps…


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Photobucket

