Worries

I fell in love with the Vine Yoke Cardigan by Ysolda Teague several months ago and have been searching for just the right yarn. I decided to take a page from Meghan(Allergic to Wool)’s book and unravel an old sweater to reuse the wool. The sweater I chose was an OLD one of mine from back in high school – I love the color, but the style is all wrong.

I believe the yarn is aran weight, though the vine yoke pattern calls for worsted – Mistake #1. I also didn’t bother measuring the yardage I harvested, figuring that if I started with enough yarn for a hooded sweater, I would certainly have enough for a not hooded one – Mistake #2.

I’ve knitted the front right and part of the right sleeve of the Vine Yoke cardi and while I love the yoke and edging patterns, I do not like the serious amount of puckering at the neckline. People on Ravelry mentioned this was a problem with the pattern and I think the aran weight yarn only exacerbates it:

(For some reason, this color is difficult for me to photograph properly; the first picture in this post shows the true color.)

I am also SERIOUSLY worried about running out of yarn. The balls next to the sweater in the photo are all I have left – and I still need to finish this sleeve, knit the entire back and left front, as well as a second sleeve. What do you think, folks? Should I call it quits? I hate to rip out so much work, but I’m also not willing to waste more time on a sinking ship…

In other (happier) news, I’m still working on the Hexacomb Cardigan. Just another inch or two of body before I work the sleeves.

7 Responses to “Worries”


  1. 1 Meghan 2010 April 13 at 2:32 pm

    Hm, this is a tough one. I would have guessed that you’d have enough as well, but it’s looking touch and go. The cabling might be the problem as cables tend to eat up lots of yarn. Still, if you started with a long sleeved, hooded sweater and are now making a shorter sleeved, non-hooded sweater, you’d think you’d be ok! Did you get gauge? About the puckering – have you tried blocking that piece to see if it sorts itself out? Might be worth a try to see if it gets any better before moving forward. The yarn itself looks great though – I am sure it would make something else lovely if this doesn’t work out!

  2. 2 Stina 2010 April 13 at 8:23 pm

    (1) I can’t believe you still have that sweater! I half expect to see a Sobe bottle sitting barely touched next to it.

    (2) I don’t know much about knitting. Ok. I don’t know anything about knitting. However, I do know about cutting losses. You already invested a lot of time you don’t want to lose. However, do you think you are going to be (a) pleased with the end product even if you do have enough sweater fluff? (b) if you run short, how mad will you be that you didn’t invest your time else-project? (c) how fabulous is that pink?

    Just thoughts to ponder.

  3. 3 rosemary 2010 April 13 at 9:37 pm

    Meghan – Thanks for your thoughts on this! I think you’re right about the cables. I really didn’t factor their extra yarn needs into my mental calculation. I did get gauge despite my thicker yarn choice, so everything should be on track. I think you’re right about the puckering – blocking should help quite a bit (I always forget!) Now hopefully I have enough yarn to finish…

    Stina – Haha, yes! I still have the sweater. I can’t believe you just outed my Sobe-sipping past 🙂 You make some very good points about this project – I would be super mad/sad if I didn’t have enough yarn to finish AND I do have a very cute pink cardigan already in progress I could be working on…

    My Tuesday night knitting group buddies suggested I weigh what I’ve knit and then the yarn I have left. Assuming I’ve completed 1/4 of the project, my remaining yarn should weigh 3x what I’ve already knit. If I don’t have that much yarn, I’m going to bail on the project and try knitting something else. I’ll take everything to the lab tomorrow to weigh it – stay tuned 🙂

  4. 4 baileyb 2010 April 13 at 11:32 pm

    Oh no! I’m sorry your sweater unravelling adventure is turning so sour! On a positive note, I’m glad the actual unwinding worked better this time :). I hope this turns out well, because frogging something you’ve worked so hard on would be so sad! I agree with Meghan, though. It is really pretty yarn… so anything you wanted to make it into would be stunning 🙂

  5. 5 Meghan 2010 April 14 at 3:34 am

    Ahhh weighing! Genius! I always forget that you can weigh yarn and that it comes in grams after all! Fingers crossed!

  6. 6 Meghan 2010 April 14 at 3:34 am

    p.s. I love the idea of yarn in a lab…


  1. 1 Finished Hexacomb Cardi « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2010 July 4 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Photobucket

