Greetings from Norway

Hello, dear readers! I’m sorry I’ve been away for so long without an explanation. I’ve just started a 5-month research collaboration in Trondheim, Norway. I had been meaning to post before I left the States, but wrapping things up / packing dominated the last few weeks at home. I’ve just now gotten myself settled in Norway (with Lucas’s help) and am on my own (he flew back last week).

After I finished the Hex Blanket, I made a couple small things but didn’t have the time to devote to a more involved project. Now that things have settled down, I’ve just cast on a sweater that I’ll be posting about once it develops a bit more. In the mean time, I wanted to share photos of the two yarn shops I’ve checked out in Trondheim (I’m told there are several more).

Jens Hoff is located in the Torg (or Mall):

It’s packed with all manner of DROPS yarn & patterns, as well as ready-made Norwegian knits.

Garnhuset (Yarn House) is my favorite of the two because of their amazing selection:

They carry DROPS in addition to yarn from several other Norwegian/European companies. Amazing selection!

I also want to quickly share photos of Norwegian Knits on display at the National Museum of Decorative Arts in Trondheim. Unfortunately, the descriptions were in Norwegian (which I don’t understand), so I can’t provide further information on the pieces.

I really enjoyed the dress immediately above this text. Such an interesting use of felting / texture. I wonder if it was felted, then sewn, or knit then felted. I can’t identify any seams, but it’s not the best photo. Can you imagine knitting a dress to be felted??

I also had the good fortune of meeting two Americans and one Norwegian through Ravelry this past week. They are lovely women and I hope to spend much more time knitting / hanging out with them in the months to come!

5 Responses to “Greetings from Norway”


  1. 1 Marianne 2010 August 29 at 11:27 am

    Hi! I could join you to the museum and translate those labels, if you want 🙂

  2. 3 Diana 2010 September 2 at 10:05 am

    Hello ! How are you? Wow, thats fine! It´s a lovely country. I come back from Ireland. Wool-shops (Garn-Huset) I could not find.

    • 4 rosemary 2010 September 2 at 10:45 am

      Hello Diana! I’m doing great – all settled in Norway. Thanks for asking 🙂

      No yarn shops in Ireland? That’s a shame. I hope you had a nice trip aside from the lack of yarn!

  3. 5 Sandy Mazarakis 2011 January 24 at 3:28 pm

    Rosemary,

    I am happy to find your site. My husband and I were in Trondheim last fall and plan on taking a sabbatical this May to spend a month in this lovely town.

    I have been thinking about what I would like to do during my stay and decided that I would check out felting and knitting, ergo I found your site.

    And so, I am pleased to see the knitting shops you site above. I am not an advanced knitter but certainly would love to go to lessons while I am there to learn to knit more sophisticated items as well to learn the language.

    BTW: If you know of anybody that I should connect with in advance I would love to do it.

    Thanks.

    Sandy Mazarakis
    Denver, Colorado


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Photobucket

