My Lesson in Colorwork

A couple weeks ago, I started working on the Stilwell sweater by Jerod Flood (Brooklyn Tweed), because it’s cute and it seemed like a nice, gentle introduction to colorwork sweaters. I decided to use the Knit Picks City Tweed HW I had brought with me from the US, since I’d lugged it all this way. Unfortunately, the two colors I brought made for horrible colorwork – there just isn’t much contrast between the two, even though one is quite a bit darker than the other.

Seems like there should be plenty of contrast, right?

And yet, not so much. The Lesson: make a colorwork swatch before you launch into a project to make sure your colors are compatible!

I ripped out the colorwork portion and substituted the dark green for navy blue Malabrigo worsted I also had in my stash. It’s a bit lighter weight than the beige yarn, but not too dissimilar.

Much better! I’m very happy with how this color combo has turned out. The City Tweed has quite a bit of merino in it, so the Malabrigo (100% merino) continues the feel of the beige yarn.

The project is Raveled here. Lesson learned, now back to knitting!

5 Responses to “My Lesson in Colorwork”


  1. 1 Bonnie 2010 September 5 at 11:53 am

    I like the second color combo better too. Congratulations on your research project. It sounds like a fantastic opportunity on many levels.

  2. 3 Diana 2010 September 10 at 8:37 am

    Great Rosemary! This is a very nice pattern. Yes. The blue color is better. It works very well.


  1. 1 Yet More Learning « Ramble on Rosemary Trackback on 2010 September 13 at 11:29 am

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Photobucket

