Yet More Learning

I’ve just finished the body of the Stilwell sweater (first mentioned in this post), but after much hemming and hawing I’ve decided to frog the whole thing. Why? I noticed that stockinette started to pucker at the transition from the colorwork band to the plain body section.

See what I mean?

I should have stopped to check the gauge of both sections, but did I? NO. I decided to ignore it and press on – “it’ll work itself out in blocking.” Now I’m quite sure that’s not true. I finally measured the gauge:

Colorwork band = 21.3 sts / 4 inches

Stockinette body = 18.7 sts / 4 inches

They should both be 19 sts / 4 inches. Clearly, my colorwork is MUCH tighter than it should be!  I went into this project knowing it would be a good learning experience (my first try at colorwork), and it is good to know that I tend to knit colorwork tighter, but I’m pretty sick of frogging this sweater. I think I’m going to take a break and move on to something a bit less frustrating. I’m sure I’ll come back to it soon, though. I love the pattern and the yarn.

5 Responses to “Yet More Learning”


  1. 1 Autumn 2010 September 14 at 9:20 am

    So sorry about your frog. The colorwork looks beautiful, just rip it out to the color work piece and frame it. 🙂

  2. 3 Amanda 2010 October 9 at 5:23 am

    I had this happen to me too. It helps to go down a size when you are just doing stockinette. I had to cut open the middle of my mom’s pullover and reknit the middle and then graft it back together.

    • 4 rosemary 2010 October 10 at 10:11 am

      Going down in needle size for stockinette is a great idea. I’m sorry you ran into this problem, too – it’s no fun at all – but I’m glad you successfully fixed the sweater!

  3. 5 meghanaf 2010 November 12 at 5:04 am

    I had similar puckering issues with my fair isle sweater, but it really worked out with blocking. Better luck next time!


Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I love hearing from my readers! Feel free to contact me via comments or at this address:

rambleonrosemary [at] gmail [dot] com

I last posted on…

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Photobucket

